The Joys of Physical Therapy

Man, it has been awhile since I have been sore. Like, I have been intensely working out kind of sore.

The weird part though, I am sore in my super low abdominal region. Don’t get me wrong, I am sore all over, but down there, man.

My last physical therapy session (yesterday) made my 4th one. I went in and the physical therapist asked me how I felt. The best way to describe my pain: it feels like I had another C-Section. Literally. The pain has been terrible, but he said its normal and will last for about a week. He reassured me that my uterus isn’t ripping back open (although it feels like it is).

I can thank the exercises known as “dead bug” and squats and wall planks for this soreness.

Although it hurts, I can handle it if it makes me stronger. Which I know it is. As long as I do not fracture again or have more back spasms.

Starting at the level I am currently at is tough. Before I got pregnant, I was fairly active. I would do various workout routines at home on my TV and I was going to the gym. I worked in an automotive service center so I would often handle car and truck tires and batteries. I would go fishing and I like to just walk around the woods (I know this isn’t exercise but its an level of activity I cannot currently do).

Fast forward to now, I can barely do half of the things they ask me to do in therapy. Things that I would have breezed through before, have to be modified for me to complete. It does hurt my pride a little bit. I never thought I would be in this position.

I must admit though, I don’t hate going there. I trust this therapist. He has been doing this for 18 years. Everyone in the facility is super nice and helpful. I actually get a few laughs listening to the things the staff and the other patients talk about (many of the patients are far beyond my years).

He says I should be able to take care of my baby in 2-6 months. I do notice slight improvements every few days.

I am able to stand while holding the baby for a few seconds now and I consider that progress.

He also says this is super common and sometimes, people need physical therapy after every baby. I can accept that. Considering the changes your body goes through during the pregnancy process, I can see needing help afterwards.

If I knew what I know now, I would have maybe sought out physical therapy from the beginning and could have prevented some of what has happened. I’ll never know what could have happened. All I know is what has happened and all I can do is accept it and grow from it.

I will admit, I am not 100% mad about all of this. Maybe like 98% mad. I have said before, it has taught me patience and to really cherish my baby more than I think I would have if I had not gone through this.

Anyways. Here is to healing and getting my life back.

P.s. I have started baking macarons. The standing hurts my back but the baking process helps my mental state.

One thought on “The Joys of Physical Therapy

  1. I had a c section too and when i got back to working out I had intense soreness along the incision area. I also worried that my uterus was ripping open but all was fine and the pain cleared up quickly. 🙂 I hope your therapy continues to go well and you keep seeing improvements!

    Like

Leave a Reply

